Red Tilson Trophy

mitch marner london knightsThe Red Tilson Trophy has been handed out to the most outstanding player in the Ontario Hockey League (OHL, OMJHL, OHA) since 1944-45. The list of Red Tilson Trophy winners is a ‘who’s who’ of not just OHL stars, but in most cases, NHL stars.

Just four players have won in consecutive seasons: Corey Locke – Ottawa 67’s, Brad Boyes – Erie Otters, Alyn McCauley – Ottawa 67’s and Andre Lacroix – Peterborough Petes. George Armstrong is only other player to win twice, 1947-48 and 1949-50.




Red Tilson Trophy Winners

Year Player Team
2016-17 Alex DeBrincat Erie Otters
2015-16 Mitchell Marner London Knights
2014-15 Connor McDavid Erie Otters
2013-14 Connor Brown Erie Otters
2012-13 Vincent Trocheck Plymouth Whalers
2011-12 Michael Houser London Knights
2010-11 Ryan Ellis Windsor Spitfires
2009-10 Tyler Seguin Plymouth Whalers
2008-09 Cody Hodgson Brampton Battalion
2007-08 Justin Azevedo Kitchener Rangers
2006-07 John Tavares Oshawa Generals
2005-06 Wojtek Wolski Brampton Battalion
2004-05 Corey Perry London Knights
2003-04 Corey Locke Ottawa 67’s
2002-03 Corey Locke Ottawa 67’s
2001-02 Brad Boyes Erie Otters
2000-01 Brad Boyes Erie Otters
1999-00 Andrew Raycroft Kingston Frontenacs
1998-99 Brian Campbell Ottawa 67’s
1997-98 David Legwand Plymouth Whalers
1996-97 Alyn McCauley Ottawa 67’s
1995-96 Alyn McCauley Ottawa 67’s
1994-95 David Ling Kingston Frontenacs
1993-94 Jason Allison London Knights
1992-93 Pat Peake Detroit Junior Red Wings
1991-92 Todd Simon Niagara Falls Thunder
1990-91 Eric Lindros Oshawa Generals
1989-90 Mike Ricci Peterborough Petes
1988-89 Bryan Fogarty Niagara Falls Thunder
1987-88 Andrew Cassels Ottawa 67’s
1986-87 Scott McCrory Oshawa Generals
1985-86 Ray Sheppard Cornwall Royals
1984-85 Wayne Groulx Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
1983-84 John Tucker Kitchener Rangers
1982-83 Doug Gilmour Cornwall Royals
1981-82 Dave Simpson London Knights
1980-81 Ernie Godden Windsor Spitfires
1979-80 Jim Fox Ottawa 67’s
1978-79 Mike Foligno Sudbury Wolves
1977-78 Bobby Smith Ottawa 67’s
1976-77 Dale McCourt St. Catherines Fincups
1975-76 Peter Lee Ottawa 67’s
1974-75 Dennis Maruk London Knights
1973-74 Jack Valiquette Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
1972-73 Rick Middleton Oshawa Generals
1971-72 Don Lever Niagara Falls Flyers
1970-71 Dave Gardner Toronto Marlboros
1969-70 Gilbert Perreault Montreal Junior Canadiens
1968-69 Rejean Houle Montreal Junior Canadiens
1967-68 Walt Tkaczuk Kitchener Rangers
1966-67 Mickey Redmond Peterborough Petes
1965-66 Andre Lacroix Peterborough Petes
1964-65 Andre Lacroix Peterborough Petes
1963-64 Yvan Cournoyer Montreal Junior Canadiens
1962-63 Wayne Maxner Niagara Falls Flyers
1961-62 Pit Martin Hamilton Red Wings
1960-61 Rod Gilbert Guelph Biltmore Mad Hatters
1959-60 Wayne Connelly Peterborough Petes
1958-59 Stan Mikita St. Catherines Teepees
1957-58 Murray Oliver Hamilton Tiger Cubs
1956-57 Frank Mahovlich St. Michael’s Majors
1955-56 Ron Howell Guelph Biltmore Mad Hatters
1954-55 Hank Ciesla St. Catherines Teepees
1953-54 Brian Cullen St. Catherines Teepees
1952-53 Bob Attersley Oshawa Generals
1951-52 Bill Harrington Kitchener Greenshirts
1950-51 Glenn Hall Windsor Spitfires
1949-50 George Armstrong Toronto Marlboros
1948-49 Gil Mayer Barrie Flyers
1947-48 George Armstrong Stratford Midgets
1946-47 Ed Sandford St. Michael’s Majors
1945-46 Tod Sloan St. Michael’s Majors
1944-45 Doug McMurdy St. Catherines Falcons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *