Norris Trophy

The James Norris Memorial Trophy has been given out each year since 1953-54 in the National Hockey League to the top defenseman. Players from the Boston Bruins have dominated the award, winning a combined 14 times. This accounts for nearly 25% of the Norris Trophies as of the end of the 2010-11 season. Bobby Orr leads the way with eight victories. Ray Bourque won five times and Zdeno Chara won in 2008-09, with potential to win more.

Interestingly, when combining the Bruins, Detroit Red Wings and Montreal Canadiens, the trophy has gone to one of those three teams 60% of the time.

The most recent Ontario Hockey League grad to take home the Norris Trophy was Chris Pronger in 1999-00. Pronger won the award as a member of the St. Louis Blues. He played in the OHL with the Peterborough Petes.

Year Player Team
2013-14 Duncan Keith Chicago Blackhawks
2012-13 P.K. Subban Montreal Canadiens
2011-12 Erik Karlsson Ottawa Senators
2010-11 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2009-10 Duncan Keith Chicago Blackhawks
2008-09 Zdeno Chara Boston Bruins
2007-08 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2006-07 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2005-06 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2003-04 Scott Niedermayer New Jersey Devils
2002-03 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2001-02 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2000-01 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
1999-00 Chris Pronger St. Louis Blues
1998-99 Al MacInnis St. Louis Blues
1997-98 Rob Blake Los Angeles Kings
1996-97 Brian Leetch New York Rangers
1995-96 Chris Chelios Chicago Blackhawks
1994-95 Paul Coffey Detroit Red Wings
1993-94 Raymond Bourque Boston Bruins
1992-93 Chris Chelios Chicago Blackhawks
1991-92 Brian Leetch New York Rangers
1990-91 Raymond Bourque Boston Bruins
1989-90 Raymond Bourque Boston Bruins
1988-89 Chris Chelios Montreal Canadiens
1987-88 Raymond Bourque Boston Bruins
1986-87 Raymond Bourque Boston Bruins
1985-86 Paul Coffey Edmonton Oilers
1984-85 Paul Coffey Edmonton Oilers
1983-84 Rod Langway Washington Capitals
1982-83 Rod Langway Washington Capitals
1981-82 Doug Wilson Chicago Blackhawks
1980-81 Randy Carlyle Pittsburgh Penguins
1979-80 Larry Robinson Montreal Canadiens
1978-79 Denis Potvin New York Islanders
1977-78 Denis Potvin New York Islanders
1976-77 Larry Robinson Montreal Canadiens
1975-76 Denis Potvin New York Islanders
1974-75 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1973-74 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1972-73 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1971-72 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1970-71 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1969-70 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1968-69 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1967-68 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1966-67 Harry Howell New York Rangers
1965-66 Jacques Laperriere Montreal Canadiens
1964-65 Pierre Pilote Chicago Blackhawks
1963-64 Pierre Pilote Chicago Blackhawks
1962-63 Pierre Pilote Chicago Blackhawks
1961-62 Doug Harvey New York Rangers
1960-61 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1959-60 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1958-59 Tom Johnson Montreal Canadiens
1957-58 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1956-57 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1955-56 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1954-55 Doug Harvey Montreal Canadiens
1953-54 Red Kelly Detroit Red Wings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *