Max Kaminsky Trophy (Ontario Hockey League’s Top Defenseman)

darren raddysh erie otters ohl hockey cardThe Max Kaminsky Trophy has been awarded to the Ontario Hockey League’s top defenseman since the 1969-70 season. Twice, 1985-86 and 1977-78, co-winners were awarded. Three players have won the Kaminsky and gone on to win the Norris Trophy as the NHL’s top defenseman.

Who was Max Kaminsky? Max played 130 NHL games in the 1930’s with the Ottawa Senators, St. Louis Eagles, Boston Bruins and Montreal Maroons. Kaminsky coached the St. Catherines Teepees to a Memorial Cup title in 1959-60 and died the following year.


List of Max Kaminsky Trophy Winners

Year Player Team
2016-17 Darren Raddysh Erie Otters
2015-16 Mikhail Sergachev Windsor Spitfires
2014-15 Anthony DeAngelo Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
2013-14 Aaron Ekblad Barrie Colts
2012-13 Ryan Sproul Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
2011-12 Dougie Hamilton Niagara IceDogs
2010-11 Ryan Ellis Windsor Spitfires
2009-10 Jake Muzzin Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
2008-09 Ryan Ellis Windsor Spitfires
2007-08 Drew Doughty Guelph Storm
2006-07 Marc Staal Sudbury Wolves
2005-06 Andrej Sekera Owen Sound Attack
2004-05 Danny Syvret London Knights
2003-04 James Wisniewski Plymouth Whalers
2002-03 Brendan Bell Ottawa 67’s
2001-02 Erie Reitz Barrie Colts
2000-01 Alexei Semenov Sudbury Wolves
1999-00 John Erskine London Knights
1998-99 Brian Campbell Ottawa 67’s
1997-98 Chris Allen Kingston Frontenacs
1996-97 Sean Blanchard Ottawa 67’s
1995-96 Bryan Berard Detroit Whalers
1994-95 Bryan Berard Detroit Junior Red Wings
1993-94 Jamie Rivers Sudbury Wolves
1992-93 Chris Pronger Peterborough Petes
1991-92 Drake Berehowsky North Bay Centennials
1990-91 Chris Snell Ottawa 67’s
1989-90 John Slaney Cornwall Royals
1988-89 Bryan Fogarty Niagara Falls Thunder
1987-88 Darryl Shannon Windsor Spitfires
1986-87 Kerry Huffman Guelph Platers
1985-86 Jeff Brown Sudbury Wolves
1985-86 Terry Carkner Peterborough Petes
1984-85 Bob Halkidis London Knights
1983-84 Brad Shaw Ottawa 67’s
1982-83 Al MacInnis Kitchener Rangers
1981-82 Ron Meighan Niagara Falls Flyers
1980-81 Randy Boyd Ottawa 67’s
1979-80 Larry Murphy Peterborough Petes
1978-79 Greg Theberge Peterborough Petes
1977-78 Brad Marsh London Knights
1977-78 Rob Ramage London Knights
1976-77 Craig Hartsburg Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
1975-76 Rick Green London Knights
1974-75 Mike O’Connell Kingston Canadians
1973-74 Jim Turkiewicz Peterborough Petes
1972-73 Denis Potvin Ottawa 67’s
1971-72 Denis Potvin Ottawa 67’s
1970-71 Jocelyn Guevremont Montreal Junior Canadiens
1969-70 Ron Plumb Peterborough Petes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *