Hart Memorial Trophy

hart memorial trophy hockey cardThe Hart Memorial Trophy has been handed out each year since 1923-24 to the player in the National Hockey League deemed to be the Most Valuable. Frank Nighbor of the Ottawa Senators was the first recipient of the Hart Trophy.

Wayne Gretzky has won the Hart Trophy more times than any other player, with nine. Gordie Howe won the Trophy six times and Eddie Shore won it four. Mario Lemieux, Bobby Clarke, Bobby Orr, Howie Morenz and now Alex Ovechkin each won the Hart Trophy on three occasions.

Hart Memorial Trophy Recipients

Year Name Team
Price, Carey Montreal Canadiens
Crosby, Sidney Pittsburgh Penguins
Ovechkin, Alex Washington Capitals
Malkin, Evgeni Pittsburgh Penguins
Perry, Corey Anaheim Ducks
2009-10 Sedin, Henrik Vancouver Canucks
2008-09 Ovechkin, Alex Washington Capitals
2007-08 Ovechkin, Alex Washington Capitals
2006-07 Crosby, Sidney Pittsburgh Penguins
2005-06 Thornton, Joe San Jose Sharks
2003-04 St. Louis, Martin Tampa Bay Lightning
2002-03 Forsberg , Peter Colorado Avalanche
2001-02 Théodore, José Montreal Canadiens
2000-01 Sakic, Joe Colorado Avalanche
1999-00 Pronger, Chris St. Louis Blues
1998-99 Jagr, Jaromir Pittsburgh Penguins
1997-98 Hasek, Dominik Buffalo Sabres
1996-97 Hasek, Dominik Buffalo Sabres
1995-96 Lemieux, Mario Pittsburgh Penguins
1994-95 Lindros, Eric Philadelphia Flyers
1993-94 Federov, Sergei Detroit Red Wings
1992-93 Lemieux, Mario Pittsburgh Penguins
1991-92 Messier, Mark New York Rangers
1990-91 Hull, Brett St. Louis Blues
1989-90 Messier, Mark Edmonton Oilers
1988-89 Gretzky, Wayne Los Angeles Kings
1987-88 Lemieux, Mario Pittsburgh Penguins
1986-87 Gretzky, Wayne Edmonton Oilers
1985-86 Gretzky, Wayne Edmonton Oilers
1984-85 Gretzky, Wayne Edmonton Oilers
1983-84 Gretzky, Wayne Edmonton Oilers
1982-83 Gretzky, Wayne Edmonton Oilers
1981-82 Gretzky, Wayne Edmonton Oilers
1980-81 Gretzky, Wayne Edmonton Oilers
1979-80 Gretzky, Wayne Edmonton Oilers
1978-79 Trottier, Bryan New York Islanders
1977-78 Lafleur, Guy Montreal Canadiens
1976-77 Lafleur, Guy Montreal Canadiens
1975-76 Clarke, Bobby Philadelphia Flyers
1974-75 Clarke, Bobby Philadelphia Flyers
1973-74 Esposito, Phil Boston Bruins
1972-73 Clarke, Bobby Philadelphia Flyers
1971-72 Orr, Bobby Boston Bruins
1970-71 Orr, Bobby Boston Bruins
1969-70 Orr, Bobby Boston Bruins
1968-69 Esposito, Phil Boston Bruins
1967-68 Mikita, Stan Chicago Blackhawks
1966-67 Mikita, Stan Chicago Blackhawks
1965-66 Hull, Bobby Chicago Blackhawks
1964-65 Hull, Bobby Chicago Blackhawks
1963-64 Beliveau, Jean Montreal Canadiens
1962-63 Howe, Gordie Detroit Red Wings
1961-62 Plante, Jacques Montreal Canadiens
1960-61 Geoffrion, Bernie Montreal Canadiens
1959-60 Howe, Gordie Detroit Red Wings
1958-59 Bathgate, Andy New York Rangers
1957-58 Howe, Gordie Detroit Red Wings
1956-57 Howe, Gordie Detroit Red Wings
1955-56 Beliveau, Jean Montreal Canadiens
1954-55 Kennedy, Ted Toronto Maple Leafs
1953-54 Rollins, Al Chicago Blackhawks
1952-53 Howe, Gordie Detroit Red Wings
1951-52 Howe, Gordie Detroit Red Wings
1950-51 Schmidt, Milt Boston Bruins
1949-50 Rayner, Chuck New York Rangers
1948-49 Abel, Sid Detroit Red Wings
1947-48 O’Connor, Buddy New York Rangers
1946-47 Richard, Maurice Montreal Canadiens
1945-46 Bentley, Max Chicago Blackhawks
1944-45 Lach, Elmer Montreal Canadiens
1943-44 Pratt, Babe Toronto Maple Leafs
1942-43 Cowley, Bill Boston Bruins
1941-42 Anderson, Tom New York Americans
1940-41 Cowley, Bill Boston Bruins
1939-40 Goodfellow, Ebbie Detroit Red Wings
1938-39 Blake, Toe Montreal Canadiens
1937-38 Shore, Eddie Boston Bruins
1936-37 Siebert, Babe Montreal Canadiens
1935-36 Shore, Eddie Boston Bruins
1934-35 Shore, Eddie Boston Bruins
1933-34 Joliat, Aurel Montreal Canadiens
1932-33 Shore, Eddie Boston Bruins
1931-32 Morenz, Howie Montreal Canadiens
1930-31 Morenz, Howie Montreal Canadiens
1929-30 Stewart, Nels Montreal Maroons
1928-29 Worters, Roy New York Americans
1927-28 Morenz, Howie Montreal Canadiens
1926-27 Gardiner, Herb Montreal Canadiens
1925-26 Stewart, Nels Montreal Maroons
1924-25 Burch, Billy Hamilton Tigers
1923-24 Nighbor, Frank Ottawa Senators

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *