Goodall Cup – AIHL

goodall cup australia aihlThese days, the Goodall Cup is given to the playoff champion in Australia’s AIHL. The AIHL consists of eight teams and was inaugurated for the 2000 season. However, the Goodall Cup was first awarded in 1909 and was originally donated by John Edwin Goodall.

Since 2000, the Newcastle North Star have won the championship the most at six times. The Melbourne Ice are the only team to win in three consecutive seasons.

In 2016, the league will consist of eight teams: Adelaide Adrenaline, CBR Brave, Melbourne Ice, Melbourne Mustangs, Newcastle North Stars, Perth Thunder, Sydney Bears, Sydney Ice Dogs.

Each year, the AIHL has a handful of Ontario Hockey League alumni on rosters. Import rules are strict, similar actually to the OHL’s, in order to grow the game with Australian players. Perhaps the most notable OHL grad playing in the AIHL is Matt Armstrong. Armstrong played in the OHL from 1999-00 to 2002-03 with the Kitchener Rangers, Peterborough Petes, Plymouth Whalers and Barrie Colts. He has been a leader with the Melbourne Ice for several years.

This is not a pro league but imports do receive assistance in obtaining housing and employment. Regular season schedules consist of 28 games per team from April until the end of August.

The Australian Ice Hockey League uses a three points per game format for overall standings. A regulation win is worth three but if the game is decided in overtime, the split is two for the winner and one for the loser. When it comes to playoffs, everything is decided in a playoff weekend with the top four teams playing in a single knockout style tournament to determine the Goodall Cup champion.

List of Goodall Cup Champions


Year Champion
2016 Newcastle North Stars
2015 Newcastle North Stars
2014 Melbourne Mustangs
2013 Sydney Ice Dogs
2012 Melbourne Ice
2011 Melbourne Ice
2010 Melbourne Ice
2009 Adelaide Adrenaline
2008 Newcastle North Stars
2007 Sydney Bears
2006 Newcastle North Stars
2005 Newcastle North Stars
2004 West Sydney Ice Dogs
2003 Newcastle North Stars
2002 Sydney Bears
2001 Adelaide Avalanche
2000 Adelaide Avalanche

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *