Gagarin Cup KHL

gagarin cup metallurg magnitogorskSince the Kontinental Hockey League was formed for the 2008-09, out of the Russian Super League, teams have competed for the Gagarin Cup. The Gagarin Cup is the KHL’s equivalent of the NHL’s Stanley Cup. Despite their now being teams from seven different countries in the seven team league, only teams based in Russia have won the Gagarin Cup as of 2014-15.

The trophy is named for cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin, the first man in space. Gagarin beat out Anatoli Tarasov, considered the father of Russian hockey. Tarasov helped found CSKA Moscow and coached that club from 1946 to 1975. Essentially, hockey did not exist in Russia before that time.

Pictured is Mike Keenan and the Gagarin Cup with Metallurg Magnitogorsk in 2013-14.

List of Gagarin Cup Champions

Year Champion
2016-17 SKA St. Petersburg
2015-16 Metallurg Magnitogorsk
2014-15 SKA St. Petersburg
2013-14 Metallurg Magnitogorsk
2012-13 Dynamo Moscow
2011-12 Dynamo Moscow
2010-11 Salavat Yulaev Ufa
2009-10 Ak Bars Kazan
2008-09 Ak Bars Kazan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *