Four Broncos Memorial Trophy – WHL MVP

joe sakic four broncos memorial trophyThe WHL Player of the Year has been awarded since 1966-67. The trophy was named to the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy after the December, 1986 fatal bus crash. Four players from the Swift Current Broncos perished: Trent Kresse, Scott Kruger, Chris Mantyka and Brent Ruff.

The first winner back in 1966-67 was Gerry Pinder of the Saskatoon Blades. There have been three players to win the award on two occasions. Goalie Mike Vernon won twice as a member of the Calgary Wranglers, Rob Brown won twice with the Kamloops Blazers and Joe Sakic won twice with the Swift Current Broncos.

There’s a bit of an exception to Sakic and Brown, however. In 1985-86 and 1986-87, the award was given to two players, a member from the East and West. Brown won for the west in both those seasons. Sakic won the for the east in 1986-87 and was the solo winner in 1987-88.

Joe Sakic is one of four winners to go on to a Hockey Hall of Fame worthy National Hockey League career. The other three include Bobby Clarke, Bryan Trottier and Bernie Federko.

The Four Broncos Memorial Trophy is the WHL equivalent to the OHL’s Red Tilson Trophy and the Michel Briere Memorial Trophy in the QMJHL.

List of Four Broncos Memorial Trophy Winners

Season Player Team
2015–16 Dryden Hunt Moose Jaw Warriors
2014–15 Oliver Bjorkstrand Portland Winterhawks
2013–14 Sam Reinhart Kootenay Ice
2012–13 Adam Lowry Swift Current Broncos
2011–12 Brendan Shinnimin Tri-City Americans
2010–11 Darcy Kuemper Red Deer Rebels
2009–10 Jordan Eberle Regina Pats
2008–09 Brett Sonne Calgary Hitmen
2007–08 Karl Alzner Calgary Hitmen
2006–07 Kris Russell Medicine Hat Tigers
2005–06 Justin Pogge Calgary Hitmen
2004–05 Eric Fehr Brandon Wheat Kings
2003–04 Cam Ward Red Deer Rebels
2002–03 Josh Harding Regina Pats
2001–02 Dan Hamhuis Prince George Cougars
2000–01 Justin Mapletoft Red Deer Rebels
1999–00 Brad Moran Calgary Hitmen
1998–99 Cody Rudkowsky Seattle Thunderbirds
1997–98 Sergei Varlamov Swift Current Broncos
1996–97 Peter Schaefer Brandon Wheat Kings
1995–96 Jarome Iginla Kamloops Blazers
1994–95 Marty Murray Brandon Wheat Kings
1993–94 Sonny Mignacca Medicine Hat Tigers
1992–93 Jason Krywulak Swift Current Broncos
1991–92 Steve Konowalchuk Portland Winter Hawks
1990–91 Ray Whitney Spokane Chiefs
1989–90 Glen Goodall Seattle Thunderbirds
1988–89 Stu Barnes Tri-City Americans
1987–88 Joe Sakic Swift Current Broncos
1986–87 Rob Brown Kamloops Blazers
1986-87 Joe Sakic Swift Current Broncos
1985–86 Rob Brown Kamloops Blazers
1985-86 Emanuel Viveiros Prince Albert Raiders
1984–85 Cliff Ronning New Westminster Bruins
1983–84 Ray Ferraro Brandon Wheat Kings
1982–83 Mike Vernon Calgary Wranglers
1981–82 Mike Vernon Calgary Wranglers
1980–81 Steve Tsujiura Medicine Hat Tigers
1979–80 Doug Wickenheiser Regina Pats
1978–79 Perry Turnbull Portland Winter Hawks
1977–78 Ryan Walter Seattle Thunderbirds
1976–77 Barry Beck New Westminster Bruins
1975–76 Bernie Federko Saskatoon Blades
1974–75 Bryan Trottier Lethbridge Hurricanes
1973–74 Ron Chipperfield Brandon Wheat Kings
1972–73 Dennis Sobchuk Regina Pats
1971–72 John Davidson Calgary Centennials
1970–71 Ed Dyck Calgary Centennials
1969–70 Reg Leach Flin Flon Bombers
1968–69 Bobby Clarke Flin Flon Bombers
1967–68 Jim Harrison Estevan Bruins
1966–67 Gerry Pinder Saskatoon Blades