Emms Family Award

derek roy dallas starsThe Emms Family Award has been given out each year since 1972-73 to the top rookie in the Ontario Hockey League. The first recipient of the award was Dennis Maruk of the London Knights. Maruk went on to a stellar NHL career and still owns the Washington Capitals records for most assists and most points in a single season. Yet, for some reason, Maruk is not honoured with a banner hanging from the rafters of Budweiser Gardens in London, Ontario.

In fact, just five of the 40 Emms Family Award winners that have graduated from the OHL have not played at least a game in the NHL. The Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds lead the way with six winners of the Emms Family Award, including Wayne Gretzky and Joe Thornton. The London Knights are second in line with four, including Rick Nash and Patrick Kane.

List of Emms Family Award Winners

Year Player Team NHL
2015-16 Nylander, Alexander Mississauga Steelheads
2014-15 DeBrincat, Alex Erie Otters
2013-14 Konecny, Travis Ottawa 67’s
2012-13 McDavid, Connor Erie Otters  Yes
2011-12 Ekblad, Aaron Barrie Colts  Yes
2010-11 Yakupov, Nail Sarnia Sting  Yes
2009-10 Puempel, Matt Peterborough Petes  Yes
2008-09 Grachev, Evgeny Brampton Battalion Yes
2007-08 Hall, Taylor Windsor Spitfires Yes
2006-07 Kane, Patrick London Knights Yes
2005-06 Tavares, John Oshawa Generals Yes
2004-05 Pouliot, Benoit Sudbury Wolves Yes
2003-04 Little, Bryan Barrie Colts Yes
2002-03 Schremp, Rob Mississauga IceDogs Yes
2001-02 O’Sullivan, Patrick Mississauga IceDogs Yes
2000-01 Nash, Rick London Knights Yes
1999-00 Roy, Derek Kitchener Rangers Yes
1998-99 Keefe, Sheldon Barrie Colts Yes
1997-98 Legwand, David Plymouth Whalers Yes
1996-97 Sarno, Peter Windsor Spitfires Yes
1995-96 Thornton, Joe Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds Yes
1994-95 Berard, Bryan Detroit Jr. Red Wings Yes
1993-94 Yachmenev, Vitali North Bay Centennials Yes
1992-93 O’Neill, Jeff Guelph Storm Yes
1991-92 Gratton, Chris Kingston Frontenacs Yes
1990-91 Stillman, Cory Windsor Spitfires Yes
1989-90 Longo, Chris Peterborough Petes No
1988-89 Nolan, Owen Cornwall Royals Yes
1987-88 Corriveau, Rick London Knights No
1986-87 Cassels, Andrew Ottawa 67’s Yes
1985-86 Loach, Lonnie Guelph Storm Yes
1984-85 King, Derek Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds Yes
1983-84 Burr, Shawn Kitchener Rangers Yes
1982-83 Cassidy, Bruce Ottawa 67’s Yes
1981-82 Verbeek, Pat Sudbury Wolves Yes
1980-81 Tanti, Tony Oshawa Generals Yes
1979-80 Dowie, Bruce Toronto Marlboros Yes
1978-79 Goodwin, John Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds No
1977-78 Gretzky, Wayne Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds Yes
1976-77 Gartner, Mike Niagara Falls Flyers Yes
1975-76 Tavella, John Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds No
1974-75 Shearer, Danny Hamilton Fincups No
1973-74 Valiquette, Jack Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds Yes
1972-73 Maruk, Dennis London Knights Yes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *