Eddie Shore Award

The Eddie Shore Award is the American Hockey League equivalent of the NHL’s Norris Trophy or the Ontario Hockey League’s Max Kaminsky Trophy. The Eddie Shore Award has been handed out each year since 1958-59 to the AHL’s top defenseman.

Noel Price is the only player to win the award on three occasions while five others have won it twice. Just Terry Murray, Dave Fenyves, John Slaney and Curtis Murphy have won in consecutive years.

Player Team
2013-14 T.J. Brennan Toronto Marlies
2012-13 Justin Schultz Oklahoma City Barons
2011-12 Mark Barberio Norfolk Admirals
2010–11 Marc-Andre Gragnani Portland Pirates
2009–10 Danny Groulx Worcester Sharks
2008–09 Johnny Boychuk Providence Bruins
2007–08 Andrew Hutchinson Hartford Wolf Pack
2006–07 Sheldon Brookbank Milwaukee Admirals
2005–06 Andy Delmore Springfield Falcons
2004–05 Niklas Kronwall Grand Rapids Griffins
2003–04 Curtis Murphy Milwaukee Admirals
2002–03 Curtis Murphy Houston Aeros
2001–02 John Slaney Philadelphia Phantoms
2000–01 John Slaney Philadelphia Phantoms
1999–00 Brad Tiley Springfield Falcons
1998–99 Ken Sutton Albany River Rats
1997–98 Jamie Heward Philadelphia Phantoms
1996–97 Darren Rumble Philadelphia Phantoms
1995–96 Barry Richter Binghamton Rangers
1994–95 Jeff Serowik Providence Bruins
1993–94 Chris Snell St. John’s Maple Leafs
1992–93 Bobby Dollas Adirondack Red Wings
1991–92 Greg Hawgood Cape Breton Oilers
1990–91 Norm Maciver Cape Breton Oilers
1989–90 Eric Weinrich Utica Devils
1988–89 Dave Fenyves Hershey Bears
1987–88 Dave Fenyves Hershey Bears
1986–87 Brad Shaw Binghamton Whalers
1985–86 Jim Wiemer New Haven Nighthawks
1984–85 Richie Dunn Binghamton Whalers
1983–84 Garry Lariviere St. Catharines Saints
1982–83 Greg Tebbutt Baltimore Skipjacks
1981–82 Dave Farrish New Brunswick Hawks
1980–81 Craig Levie Nova Scotia Voyageurs
1979–80 Rick Vasko Adirondack Red Wings
1978–79 Terry Murray Maine Mariners
1977–78 Terry Murray Maine Mariners
1976–77 Brian Engblom Nova Scotia Voyageurs
1975–76 Noel Price Nova Scotia Voyageurs
1974–75 Joe Zanussi Providence Reds
1973–74 Gordie Smith Springfield Kings
1972–73 Ray McKay Cincinnati Swords
1971–72 Noel Price Nova Scotia Voyageurs
1970–71 Marshall Johnston Cleveland Barons
1969–70 Noel Price Springfield Kings
1968–69 Bob Blackburn Buffalo Bisons
1967–68 Bill Needham Cleveland Barons
1966–67 Bob McCord Pittsburgh Hornets
1965–66 Jim Morrison Quebec Aces
1964–65 Al Arbour Rochester Americans
1963–64 Ted Harris Cleveland Barons
1962–63 Marc Reaume Hershey Bears
1961–62 Kent Douglas Springfield Indians
1960–61 Bob McCord Springfield Indians
1959–60 Larry Hillman Providence Reds
1958–59 Steve Kraftcheck Rochester Americans

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *