CHL Player Of The Year

peter john lee pittsburgh penguinsThe CHL Player of the Year award has been handed out since 1974-75. In that first year, goaltender Ed Staniowski of the Regina Pats was the recipient. The winner is chosen each year from the three individuals winner MVP honours in the WHL, QMJHL and OHL.

Sidney Crosby remains the only two time winner, selected in both 2003-04 and 2004-05 as a member of the Rimouski Oceanic. The Ottawa 67’s of the OHL have had the most winners with five. Just the 67’s, Oceanic and Pats have had winners on three or more occasions. Five winners are now in the Hockey Hall of Fame: Dale Hawerchuk, Pat Lafontaine, Mario Lemieux, Luc Robitaille and Joe Sakic.

As of the 2013-14 season, players from the Ontario Hockey League had won the most times with 17. The QMJHL comes second with 15 and the WHL lags behind with eight.


Year Player Team League
2015-16 Mitch Marner London Knights OHL
2014-15  Connor McDavid  Erie Otters  OHL
2013-14 Anthony Mantha Val-d’Or Foreurs QMJHL
2012-13 Jonathan Drouin Halifax Mooseheads QMJHL
2011-12 Brendan Shinnimin Tri-City Americans WHL
2010-11 Ryan Ellis Windsor Spitfires OHL
2009-10 Jordan Eberle Regina Pats WHL
2008-09 Cody Hodgson Brampton Battalion OHL
2007-08 Justin Azevedo Kitchener Rangers OHL
2006-07 John Tavares Oshawa Generals OHL
2005-06 Alexander Radulov Quebec Remparts QMJHL
2004-05 Sidney Crosby Rimouski Oceanic QMJHL
2003-04 Sidney Crosby Rimouski Oceanic QMJHL
2002-03 Corey Locke Ottawa 67’s OHL
2001-02 Pierre-Marc Bouchard Chicoutimi Sagueneens QMJHL
2000-01 Simon Gamache Val-d’Or Foreurs QMJHL
1999-00 Brad Richards Rimouski Oceanic QMJHL
1998-99 Brian Campbell Ottawa 67’s OHL
1997-98 Sergei Varlamov Swift Current Broncos WHL
1996-97 Alyn McCauley Ottawa 67’s OHL
1995-96 Christian Dube Sherbrooke Castors QMJHL
1994-95 David Ling Kingston Frontenacs OHL
1993-94 Jason Allison London Knights OHL
1992-93 Pat Peake Detroit Jr Red Wings OHL
1991-92 Charles Poulin St-Hyacinthe Laser QMJHL
1990-91 Eric Lindros Oshawa Generals OHL
1989-90 Mike Ricci Peterborough Petes OHL
1988-89 Bryan Fogarty Niagara Falls Thunder OHL
1987-88 Joe Sakic Swift Current Broncos WHL
1986-87 Rob Brown Kamloops Blazers WHL
1985-86 Luc Robitaille Hull Olympiques QMJHL
1984-85 Dan Hodgson Prince Albert Raiders WHL
1983-84 Mario Lemieux Laval Voisins QMJHL
1982-83 Pat Lafontaine Verdun Juniors QMJHL
1981-82 Dave Simpson London Knights OHL
1980-81 Dale Hawerchuk Cornwall Royals QMJHL
1979-80 Doug Wickenheiser Regina Pats WHL
1978-79 Pierre Lacroix Trois-Rivieres Draveurs QMJHL
1977-78 Bobby Smith Ottawa 67’s OHL
1976-77 Dale McCourt St. Catherines Fincups OHL
1975-76 Peter Lee Ottawa 67’s OHL
1974-75 Ed Staniowski Regina Pats WHL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *