Bob Clarke Trophy

bob clarke philadelphia flyers 1978-79 o-pee-chee hockey cardThe Bob Clarke Trophy goes annually to the Western Hockey League player with the most points during the regular season. Originally the Brownridge Trophy, it was renamed after to honour Bobby Clarke in 1987.

The award was introduced for the 1966-67 season and Bobby Clarke, then of the Flin Flon Bomber won it in it’s second and third seasons. Clarke, of course, went on to a Hockey Hall of Fame career with the Philadelphia Flyers in the National Hockey League. He was the centrepiece of the infamous Broad Street Bullies in the 1970’s.

In addition to Clarke, three others have won the award twice. Tom Lysiak of the Medicine Hat Tigers won in 1971-72 and 1972-73, Brian Propp of the Brandon Wheat Kings won in 1977-78 and 1978-79 and Rob Brown of the Kamloops Blazers won in 1985-86 and 1986-87. In 1986-87, Brown set the WHL record for most points in a single season with 212, a record that still stands untouched today.

Interestingly, the following year saw NHL greats Joe Sakic and Theo Fleury tie with 160 points. To date, they are the only co-winners of the Bob Clarke Trophy.


List of Bob Clarke Trophy Winners

Season Winner Team Points
2016-17 Sam Steel Regina Pats 131 (50G, 81A)
2015-16 Adam Brooks Regina Pats 120 (38G, 82A)
2014-15 Oliver Bjorkstrand Portland Winterhawks 118 (63G, 55A)
2013-14 Mitch Holmberg Spokane Chiefs 118 (62G, 56A)
2012-13 Brendan Leipsic Portland Winterhawks 120 (49G, 71A)
2011-12 Brendan Shinnimin Tri-City Americans 134 (58G, 76A)
2010–11 Linden Vey Medicine Hat Tigers 116 (46G, 70A)
2009–10 Brandon Kozun Calgary Hitmen 107 (32G, 75A)
2008–09 Casey Pierro-Zabotel Vancouver Giants 115 (36G, 79A)
2007–08 Mark Santorelli Chilliwack Bruins 101 (27G, 74A)
2006–07 Zach Hamill Everett Silvertips 93 (32G, 61A)
2005–06 Troy Brouwer Moose Jaw Warriors 102 (49G, 53A)
2004–05 Eric Fehr Brandon Wheat Kings 111 (59G, 52A)
2003–04 Tyler Redenbach Swift Current Broncos 105 (31G, 74A)
2002–03 Erik Christensen Kamloops Blazers 108 (54G, 54A)
2001–02 Nathan Barrett Lethbridge Hurricanes 107 (45G, 62A)
2000–01 Justin Mapletoft Red Deer Rebels 120 (43G, 77A)
1999–00 Brad Moran Calgary Hitmen 120 (48G, 72A)
1998–99 Pavel Brendl Calgary Hitmen 134 (73G, 61A)
1997–98 Sergei Varlamov Swift Current Broncos 119 (66G, 53A)
1996–97 Todd Robinson Portland Winter Hawks 134 (38G, 96A)
1995–96 Mark Deyell Saskatoon Blades 159 (61G, 98A)
1994–95 Daymond Langkow Tri-City Americans 140 (67G, 73A)
1993–94 Lonny Bohonos Portland Winter Hawks 152 (62G, 90A)
1992–93 Jason Krywulak Swift Current Broncos 162 (81G, 81A)
1991–92 Kevin St. Jaques Lethbridge Hurricanes 140 (65G, 75A)
1990–91 Ray Whitney Spokane Chiefs 185 (67G, 118A)
1989–90 Len Barrie Kamloops Blazers 185 (85G, 100A)
1988–89 Dennis Holland Portland Winter Hawks 167 (82G, 85A)
1987–88 (tie) Joe Sakic Swift Current Broncos 160 (78G, 82A)
(tie) Theoren Fleury Moose Jaw Warriors 160 (68G, 92A)
1986–87 (East) Craig Endean Regina Pats 146 (69G, 77A)
(West) Rob Brown Kamloops Blazers 212 (76G, 136A)
1985–86 Rob Brown Kamloops Blazers 173 (58G, 115A)
1984–85 Cliff Ronning New Westminster Bruins 197 (89G, 108A)
1983–84 Ray Ferraro Brandon Wheat Kings 192 (108G, 84A)
1982–83 Dale Derkatch Regina Pats 179 (84G, 95A)
1981–82 Jock Callander Regina Pats 190 (79G, 111A)
1980–81 Brian Varga Regina Pats 160 (64G, 96A)
1979–80 Doug Wickenheiser Regina Pats 170 (89G, 81A)
1978–79 Brian Propp Brandon Wheat Kings 194 (94G, 100A)
1977–78 Brian Propp Brandon Wheat Kings 182 (70G, 112A)
1976–77 Bill Derlago Brandon Wheat Kings 178 (96G, 82A)
1975–76 Bernie Federko Saskatoon Blades 187 (72G, 115A)
1974–75 Mel Bridgman Victoria Cougars 157 (66G, 91A)
1973–74 Ron Chipperfield Brandon Wheat Kings 162 (90G, 72A)
1972–73 Tom Lysiak Medicine Hat Tigers 154 (58G, 96A)
1971–72 Tom Lysiak Medicine Hat Tigers 143 (46G, 97A)
1970–71 Chuck Arnason Flin Flon Bombers 163 (79G, 84A)
1969–70 Reggie Leach Flin Flon Bombers 111 (65G, 46A)
1968–69 Bobby Clarke Flin Flon Bombers 137 (51G, 86A)
1967–68 Bobby Clarke Flin Flon Bombers 168 (51G, 117A)
1966–67 Gerry Pinder Saskatoon Blades 140 (78G, 62A)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *