Bill Hunter Trophy

For the seven years that the World Hockey Association existed, the Bill Hunter Trophy was handed out to the player that finished the regular season with the most points. Four different player’s names are on the trophy with three winning twice. Marc Tardif of the Quebec Nordiques was the winner in 1977-78, the second last year of the WHA. Tardif’s 154 points that season will forever remain a league record. The great Bobby Hull never won the Bill Hunter Trophy but he holds the WHA record for most goals in a season with 77.


Year Player Team Points
1978-79 Real Cloutier Quebec Nordiques 129
1977-78 Marc Tardif Quebec Nordiques 154
1976-77 Real Cloutier Quebec Nordiques 141
1975-76 Marc Tardif Quebec Nordiques 148
1974-75 Andre Lacroix San Diego Mariners 147
1973-74 Mike Walton Minnesota Fighting Saints 117
1972-73 Andre Lacroix Philadelphia Blazers 124


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *