4 OHL Alumni Help Fort Wayne Komets to Third Straight Turner Cup

fort wayne komets ihl hockey logoNo matter the fate of the IHL, the Fort Wayne Komets will survive. Only the original six NHL teams and the AHL’s Hershey Bears have stayed in the same location with the same name longer.

The team has just won it’s 3rd straight Turner Cup as playoff champion of the International Hockey League. No doubt, having four Ontario Hockey League alumni, including team leading scorer, Colin Chaulk, helped propel the team to the three-peat. Currently, the team is unsure what league they will be a member of as the financially troubled IHL is in talks regarding a merger with the Central Hockey League.

The Komets have existed in the professional hockey world since the 1952-53 season. The team competed in the original IHL until the end of the 1998-99 season. Since, they have been in the United Hockey League, which changed their name to the International Hockey League for the 2007-08 season. The Komets were actually moved to Albany in 1990 but the IHL’s Flint, Michigan franchise was bought almost immediately and moved to Fort Wayne and, of course, renamed the Komets.

The four OHL grads on the Komets during the 2009-10 season are as follows (click on each name to view the player’s profile page on the IHL’s official website):

Colin Chaulk played four seasons in the Ontario Hockey League from 1994-95 to 1997-98. His full OHL career was spent in Kingston with the Frontenacs. In his last three seasons, Chaulk lead the team in scoring. In his final season, he finished fifth in the OHL in scoring with 96 points.

Colin lead the Komets in scoring this year and finished fourth in league scoring with 85 points. He lead the team for four straight seasons from 2002-03 to 2005-06. This past season was his seventh season with Fort Wayne. He took a year away from the Komets in 2006-07 when he played a season for Alleghe HC in Italy.

Justin Hodgman played four seasons in the Ontario Hockey League. Hodgman was an Erie Otter from 2005-06 to 2008-09. In his first season of professional hockey, Justin played on three different teams, 33 games with the Toledo Walleye of the ECHL, 38 games with the Toronto Marlies of the AHL and just three games with the Komets.

Sean O’Connor played five seasons in the OHL. He began his career with the Erie Otters in 2003-04. Midway through the 2006-07 season, O’Connor became a Plymouth Whaler. Eight games into the 2007-08 season, Sean was traded to the London Knights, where he finished out his OHL career. This past season was Sean’s second with the Komets. In his first season, he saw one game in the ECHL with the Augusta Lynx and in his second, he saw three games in the ECHL with the Kalamazoo Wings.

Blair Stayzer played just 13 games with the Komets this past season. Blair spent four seasons in the OHL from 1996-97 to 1999-00, all with the Windsor Spitfires. As mentioned in a recent post, Blair has signed on for the 2010-11 season with the Newcastle Vipers of Great Britain’s EIHL. Originally a seventh round pick of the Calgary Flames in the 1999 NHL draft, Blair has spent the past ten seasons bouncing around the ECHL, CHL and IHL with a four game stint with the Saint John Flames of the AHL back in 2001-02.

Free Shipping on orders over $39

Related posts: